Political Sciences

About The Department

The Department of the Political Science of this University started as a unit of the school of Business and Social Studies in 1962, the year the University of Lagos was established. The unit offered courses which were integrated into the parent school of Business and Social Studies. In 1966, the Unit acquired a departmental status within the school of Business and Social Studies before the establishment of the faculty of Social Sciences in the 1967/68 academic session.

With the establishment of the Faculty of Social Sciences, Political Science became a full-fledged undergraduate programme leading to the award of Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) degree in Political Science after four years. In 1970, the Department began a post graduate Master of Science (M.Sc.) in Political Science. In the 1978/79 academic session, the Master of Public Administration (MPA) degree was introduced, and in 1980/81, the Department commenced the Master of Philosophy (M.Phil) and Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D) degree programmes. As the demand for intellectual and manpower needs of the country increased, another postgraduate programme known as Master of Public and International Affairs (M.P.I.A) was introduced by the faculty in conjunction with other departments. Masters of International Relations (MISS) was introduced in the 2012/13 session, with another postgraduate programme, Master of Research and Public Policy which was introduced in the 2013/14 session. The department also had an occasional Masters Degree programme in Political Science which commenced in 2009/2010 session but was discontinued in 2015/2016 session.

The Department had the late Professor Eme O. Awa as its pioneer Professor and Head of Department. Other distinguished academics who have headed the department include Professor Babs Williams, Associate Professor Opeyemi Ola, Professor Oyeleye Oyediran, Professor John Amoda, late Professor Stephen Olugbemi, Professor Alaba Ogunsanwo, Professor Remi Anifowoshe, Professor Solomon Akinboye and currently Professor Browne Onuoha. The Department today boasts of highly qualified and dedicated academic members of staff comprising three Professors, an adjunct Professor, two associate Professors, and other lecturers in the different areas of specialization in Political Science.

The Department through the assistance and grant from Ford Foundation publishes the Unilag Journal of Politics with Professor Browne Onuoha as the Editor-in-Chief and Dr. Adelaja Odukoya as the Managing Editor.


The philosophy of the Department is derived for the overall philosophy of the University, which is; “To be a top-class institution for the pursuit of excellence in knowledge, character and service to humanity”.


In specific terms, the objectives of the Department are:

  • To be the foremost Department in teaching and research in Political Science locally and internationally.
  • To provide qualitative education and training to Nigerian youths in the field of Political Science
  • To excel in research and contribute to the manpower needs of the national
  • To be a pivot upon which the intellectual, social, economic and political development of our nation revolves.

Academic Staff

Administrative Staff

Department Of Political Sciences
Faculty of Social Sciences University of Lagos