Mission and Vision


This dates back to 1962 when the School of Business and Social Studies was established as one of the foundation-teaching units of the University of Lagos.

In 1967, the School of Business and Social Studies was split into two namely: The School of Social Studies and the School of Business Administration. The School of Social Studies was subsequently renamed the Faculty of Social Sciences in October, 1973 with Professors T. M. Yesufu and late Obasanmi Olakanpo being the pioneer deans.  The Faculty is made up of six Departments, namely: Economics, Geography, Mass Communication, Political Sciences, Psychology, Sociology and Social work unit. The Department of Mass Communication became a part of the Faculty in 1973 while the Department of Geography was removed from the Faculty of Environmental Sciences to become a Department in the Faculty of Social Sciences at the beginning of 1997/98 Academic Session.


The vision of the founding fathers is that the Faculty becomes the Social Sciences of First choice in Nigeria as adjudged by stakeholders such as the NUC, students, peers and employers.

There are many sources you can use, such as newspapers, library books, https://drwritemyessay.com/ journals, and others.

The mission is to carry out groundbreaking researches that will solve the problems of underdevelopment and help transform the Nigerian nation, and to produce manpower that must serve as change agents both nationally and internationally.